Gandalf the (Far) Right


Ron Paul’s 2012 Campaign comes across as Moses coming down the mountains, railing against the ills of society and laying down the path forward for his fellow Americans.

Actually, it is less of Moses, and more of Gandalf (of Tolkien’s Hobbit / Ring fame). “Three hundred lives of men I have walked this earth and now I have no time…
But it was not the end. I felt life in me again. I’ve been sent back until my task is done.”

As Ron Paul in his Gandalf avatar crusading on in the battle for Middle Earth, I have compared here Gandalf’s famous quotes in the Ring series with Ron Paul’s positions & reactions…

 Gandalf 

 Ron Paul

You cannot pass! I am a servant of the Secret Fire, wielder of the Flame of Anor. The dark fire will not avail you, Flame of Udun! Go back to the shadow. You shall not pass!  Paul’s stand to never vote for legislation unless the proposed measure is expressly authorized by the Constitution. This position has frequently resulted in Paul casting the sole “no” vote against proposed legislation.
 Be on your guard. There are older and fouler things than Orcs in the deep places of the world. Paul’s famous animosity for the Feds and his drive to abolish it (as he contends Feds leads to inflation)
 His treachery runs deeper than you know. By foul craft, Saruman has crossed Orcs with goblin men. He’s breeding an army in the caverns of Isengard. An army that can move in sunlight and cover great distance at speed.  Obama. Need we say more?
My dear Frodo. Hobbits really are amazing creatures. You can learn all there is to know about their ways in a month, and yet after a hundred years they can still surprise you.  Paul’s benevolent view of his Tea Party followers and fellow Libertarian travellers. 
Don’t… tempt me Frodo! I dare not take it. Not even to keep it safe. Understand, Frodo. I would use this ring from a desire to do good… But through me, it would wield a power too great and terrible to imagine. Why most laws should be within the states’ purview and the need for checks and balances on the Federal government
Be silent. Keep your forked tongue behind your teeth. I did not pass through fire and death to bandy crooked words with a witless worm.  Paul’s condescending sparring with the other Republican contenders.

Will Ron Paul’s new messiah role land him the Republican nomination? Has he timed it right?

As Gandalf said: “A wizard is never late, Frodo Baggins. Nor is he early. He arrives precisely when he means to.

About rp71

A Cynic's Eye View: This is my tongue-in-cheek, one-eyebrow-raised, cynical view of the world of politics & the world of sports (and intriguing intersection of the two) by way of written posts and cartoons. All views expressed are my own (nobody else wants them). Follow me by subscribing here or on twitter @rp_71 Looking forward to the bouquets and brickbats in the comments section Cynics of the world, unite. We have nothing to lose, but our disdains…
This entry was posted in Politics - US and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gandalf the (Far) Right

  1. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. Many thanks

  2. bq grills says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

Leave a Reply

