Dhoni: On The Rocks?


Slowly, the Indian cricket team is being taken over by brash new India. With the change in guard, the attitude is changing also. While most of it is positive (fighting spirit, professionalism, fitness mantra), we can see the old-world mores & values dying away. A recent incident has glaringly shown the disparity between the older greats and the new cricketing icons.

It was recently announced that Sachin Tendulkar has chosen ‘principles’ over ‘money’ by saying no to endorse a liquor advertisement. As per reports, Tendulkar refused a whopping Rs. 20 crore-offer to endorse a top liquor brand. Living up to the promise he made to his father and following his traditional values, the master blaster has refused to promote liquor* or cigarettes.

Once Sachin refused, UB then approached Dhoni, who readily agreed to sign a three-year endorsement deal with the country’s largest spirit maker for Rs 25-26 crore.

Dhoni will be associated with McDowell’s soda – he cannot promote any alcoholic products directly as such ads are banned in India. However, he will be supporting McDowell as a brand, as most of the industry products act as a front for surrogate advertising through the media due to strict restrictions or bans on liquor and tobacco advertising in India

MS Dhoni has become an inspiration for millions of young Indians. But this step would be counter to building a positive image among his fans. As per his authorised website, he lists Sachin Tendulkar among his childhood idols. It seems he only willing to follow Sachin’s action on the field, not off the field.

The following is a comment in the past from his endorsement management team: “Unlike other cricketers who lapped up several endorsement deals during their good run, (our) company has been very discerning. We are primarily concentrating on his game and if he keeps performing well, brand endorsements will follow. We have not been actively scouting for brand endorsement deals on our own“. It seems things have changed now.

Some gems from Dhoni’s website:

Pet hate: people with double standards”

“His innate sensibleness is a guiding principle in Mahi’s life: he is a classic combination of rock star cool and down to earth humility.”

Dhoni’s message for his fans on his website says “Never give up.” With his latest signing, he seems to mean to say, “Never give up the money. Give up your principles

There have been many sportspeople from different fields who refused endorsements with even soft drink companies like Pepsi and Coca Cola because they felt that it was giving the youth the wrong idea that fizzy beverages are good for them. What does Dhoni believe in?

*It will be interesting to see SRT’s response if he is ever chosen by Royal Challengers Bangalore in an IPL auction.

 

About rp71

A Cynic's Eye View: This is my tongue-in-cheek, one-eyebrow-raised, cynical view of the world of politics & the world of sports (and intriguing intersection of the two) by way of written posts and cartoons. All views expressed are my own (nobody else wants them). Follow me by subscribing here or on twitter @rp_71 Looking forward to the bouquets and brickbats in the comments section Cynics of the world, unite. We have nothing to lose, but our disdains…
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dhoni: On The Rocks?

  1. Vikas Jambotkar says:

    The lure of money seems to hit most barring a few, and ones you can count on your hand….. sad but true..

  2. Pingback: SRT – the R stands for Ratna | A Cynic's Eye View

  3. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. However think of if you added some great graphics or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this site could certainly be one of the greatest in its niche. Awesome blog!

  4. Hello excellent website! Does running a blog such as this require a large amount of work? I’ve very little expertise in programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic nevertheless I just wanted to ask. Thank you!

  5. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Thanks

  6. First off I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I have had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Cheers!

  7. bbq says:

    Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

