2011 – The Year of Irony: A Quiz


Happy New Year to one and all. My heart hopes 2011 evolves into a nice and rosy year, unlike its predecessors, but my cynical mind thinks otherwise. In keeping with that thought, I solemnly declare 2011 as the “Year of Irony”.

To celebrate that honour, I have set up a Quiz steeped in irony. Have a go at it:  

1) My Christian Name (first name) is Eldrick. I describe my race / ethnicity as Cablinasian (a mixture of Caucasian, Black, American-Indian, and Asian) – I am one- eighth Chinese, one eighth Filipino, one-quarter Thai, one-quarter African American, one-eighth Native American, and one-eighth Dutch. But I am a Buddhist. Who am I?

2)In a BBC interview, he said that he had no ambitions left now that he had been knighted and there was a waxwork of him in Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum. He died on Valentine’s Day. Who is he?

3) Which organization / company is common to “India’s First War of Independence (1857)”, the “First Opium War” and the “Boston Tea Party”? [HMG will not be accepted]

4) Apart from Washington DC, which other nation’s capital is named after a US president?

5) The two protagonists of Kundan Shah’s dark comedy movie “Jaane Bhi Do Yaroon” [Just Let It Go, Friends] are named Vinod and Sudhir. Why?

6) Who was Bofors’ most famous owner, playing the key role in reshaping the former iron and steel producer into a modern cannon manufacturer?

7) George W Bush had 3 cats when in the White House. Cowboy and Ernie. Name the third?

8 ) Who is the (only) investment banker to win a Nobel Peace Prize for structuring loans and payment schedules?

9) Who is the godfather of Kim “only-claim-to-fame-as-reality-star” Kardashian?

10) Elektronen-Stretcher-Anlage, a polarized electrons accelerator was commissioned in Oct 1987, within the same week as the Black Monday crash. Which particle accelerator was switched on just 5 days before Lehman filed for bankruptcy on September 15, 2008?

 11) Who is the only woman whose portrait has appeared on the face of a U.S. currency note? [Pocahontas was on the back of a currency note!]

Bonus Question (#12): Dublin theatre manager James Daly (late 18th century) bet that he could invent and introduce a new meaningless word into the language almost overnight. He proceeded to pay Dublin urchins to chalk this word on every wall in town. By morning all Dubliners had seen the word, and because no one knew what it meant. The meaningless word entered the language of English. What word is this?

The first correct set of 12 answers (or closest) to reach back to me (via comments) will be rewarded*. Answers and the winner will be posted on 31st Jan.

Comments, corrections and wise-cracks are always welcome!!

*I was thinking a signed original of the winner’s choice of Cartoon from this blog!!!

About rp71

A Cynic's Eye View: This is my tongue-in-cheek, one-eyebrow-raised, cynical view of the world of politics & the world of sports (and intriguing intersection of the two) by way of written posts and cartoons. All views expressed are my own (nobody else wants them). Follow me by subscribing here or on twitter @rp_71 Looking forward to the bouquets and brickbats in the comments section Cynics of the world, unite. We have nothing to lose, but our disdains…
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2011 – The Year of Irony: A Quiz

  1. When I first started I felt a sense of contradiction but as I followed through order prevailed. Let’s hope that it will have the power to change perspectives to a larger scale.

  2. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a 40 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

Leave a Reply

